Trap your story topics

I have found it extremely useful to keep a list of subjects or, more specifically, scenes I want to write about as they occur to me. And, since things to write about nearly always occur to me at inconvenient times – in the shower, during a conversation with a friend, while I’m reading a book, while I’m commuting – I keep the list in my smartphone because it’s always handy.

Having a running list lets my brain relax, knowing that I can come back to the subject when I have time to flesh it out.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t always count on remembering a brilliant idea long enough to get the story written so I need to capture the idea as soon as possible.

In class, we generate some spectacular lists of things to write about.  Here are a few categories to help spur your own brainstorm:

–          Firsts: first love, first loss, first skinny dip, first crime, first big win …

–          Family: mysterious elder, sibling antics, what I learned from my mother …

–          Favorites: favorite teacher, vacation, guilty pleasure, childhood crush, song, object …

–          School: best friend, recess games, graduation day, homecoming game, locker room antics…

What topics are you saving up to write about?

See more writing tips here

Tags: , , ,

Categories: writing tips

2 Comments on “Trap your story topics”

  1. January 9, 2015 at 10:32 am #

    Food and all things associated with food.

    • January 20, 2015 at 10:56 am #

      Most definitely! Food memories are ripe for harvesting. Ha, ha :)

Share a comment or story

