Camping Box by Marsha Chandler

Crawling into bed and settling my face next to the screen, I was tired but closed my eyes only briefly. This summer traveling across the country, my cousin and I are sleeping in a box on top of the car made by my engineering-wiz grandpa.  The first day on the road was long, even the distraction of games didn’t make time move fast enough.  I kept imagining the sleeping box unfolding, the sides locking into place, and crawling up for a whole new adventure.  Just the idea made my eight year old self giddy; I would have a small window to peer down on the theater below.  Setting up camp and finally having the evening meal meant the big moment was here.  Settled under the covers in the lush green forest I took a deep breath, opened my eyes and looked out, as the moonlight made shadow animals of the rocks and monsters of trees.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: sample stories

One Comment on “Camping Box by Marsha Chandler”

  1. August 12, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    Cool — I recall hurrying toward adventure, until suddenly there it was. Nice.

Share a comment or story

